The Aughts

The Hurt Locker

The Hurt Locker (2009), directed by Kathryn Bigelow and written by Mark Boalstars Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Christian Camargo, Ralph Fiennes, David Morse, and Guy Pearce. The film earned near-universal acclaim from critics, who praised Bigelow’s directing, Renner’s performance, writing, and action sequences. The film was nominated for nine Academy Awards and won six, including Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Original Screenplay. It remains the only winner of Best Picture and Best Director Oscars helmed by a woman. The film grossed $49.2 million worldwide.

Directed by
Kathryn Bigelow

Jeremy Renner
Anthony Mackie
Brian Geraghty
Evangeline Lilly
Ralph Fiennes
David Morse
Guy Pearce